perhaps ignorance really is bliss?

Lately I’ve been pondering the concept of knowledge more than usual.

During the huge changes in my life in my early 20s,  I began voraciously seeking scientific knowledge. Previously this had been a no-no. I had been learning about science but only in a very controlled manner.

The more I learn however, the more I realize I don’t actually know. I’ve started postulate and intermixing theories from different disciplines. My proverbial world is really opening up. Some days my head feels like it will explode. The weight of all that knowledge either presses heavily and wearily upon me, or lifts me up weightlessly. (For example, so many things in life and science are both ends of the extreme at the same time! How can this be?)

I can see the benefits to shoving ones head in the sand, or at the very least, being capable of shoving ones head in the sand. I am not at a position in life where I can do this (it seems). I doom myself to quest after knowledge I can never truly have. I will feel hurt and beat myself up over not being capable of attaining all “truth” and knowledge.

Maybe I’ll grow up and get over this fact. Perhaps my advancement is just retarded. Ironically, it is more intelligent to be less intelligent.

~ by youcouldfeelthesky on March 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
